Just A FriendThere’s a song called “Just A Friend” by Biz Markie and he talks of a girl having a guy as a “friend” that turns out he’s actually more than a friend. Well I’m talking about that guy/girl you may be dating that you say is “just a friend” because they really don’t mean much to you. If they left you today the only pain you’d feel is that now you’re alone. You could never see yourself settling down with this person but you keep them around just so that you have “company”, someone to occupy your time until you happen to find the person you REALLY want.

The ironic thing is, I made a vow at the beginning of the year not to date anyone else that I’m not really that into just for the sake of avoiding a “single” status. I realized that, in doing so, I wasn’t allowing myself the opportunity to grow personally and I was making myself unavailable for someone who was right for me.  It was a scary thing to contemplate, because was forcing myself to deal with my fear of being alone. But it was necessary. ~ Nathan Hale Williams

Would you/have you dated someone that was “just a friend” just to avoid being alone?

Visit: Essence  to read the full article containing the quote above.

