Daughter beats Father

I need help…I do not believe in a man putting his hands on a woman. I believe that because for the most part men are stronger than women and can find another way to handle the matter. Now I do take into account that sometimes it is the man that is the victim which leads me into my dilemma.

I was watching television last night and there was a man that was arrested for hitting a woman, it was his daughter. Now the twist to the whole story is that she was beating him and he hit her back to get her off of him and his statement to the police was that he doesn’t believe in hitting women but he is a man and her father and he would not allow his daughter to disrespect him by putting her hands on him.

So…with all of that said I must ask, If no mother or female adult family member is around or available what should a father do in a situation like this?

A child should in no way feel it’s OK to disrespect their parent by putting their hands on them or even raising it as if they’re thinking about it for that matter. Please share your insight on this situation????

5 comments

  1. This happened to me with my 10 year old in my car. I’m not her father, but it hits home with me because I was wondering the same thing. She was mad that I was singing a song on the radio, but I didn’t feel like I had to stop. I wasn’t being obnoxious…and it was my car. Well she pounded me on the shoulder. I didn’t stop singing, but it stung. She repeatedly increased in pressure for about five more punches in the same spot. I was driving. But I kept my left hand on the steering wheel and whopped the back of my fist into her chest to get her to stop. I felt like I used the same pressure she did, but maybe it was because I hit her chest or she felt sorry for herself but she was all drama after that. When she calmed down I explained to her gently that it wasn’t right for me to hit her back. I should have been the adult in the situation…I got no pleasure out of it. But with a word of warning I said, Don’t you EVER hit me again.

    In the real world…you are entitled to self defense using the same force that was used against you. From what I understand…if your child grabbed a knife and headed towards her mother or father I don’t care…he is entitled to protect himself first and then her (from herself).

    This is situational and complicated. I’m not sure there is one general answer that could solve it all.

    As parents we are required to teach our children to respect others and authority. Hitting is never acceptable. Because I am in martial arts I sometimes use hitting in play but then it is clearly “play.” The problem with that is they have a hard time drawing that line when you are clearly NOT playing and they FEEL LIKE hitting. Because they did it in play, it is easier to do it in other situations.

    I would trust my husband to stand up for himself if he were being hit.

  2. Well the way folk I know was raised to that to believe that if you put your hands on your parent they have a right to whoop you as just to prove that they are still your parent and demand respect. Then there is that whole a man should never it a woman thing. Then there is that self-defense thing. Sounds like he wins because he is her parent and she hit him first. Poor child!

Share your voice

