Voice ~ Engagement Call Off?

Post courtesy of  Man and Wife TV:

 

I’ve been with my fiancé for almost 7 years. We have been engaged for 1 year.  He told me yesterday that he thinks we are moving too fast and that he only proposed because he felt pressured by his family and mine. He told me that he was not in it 100% anymore and he needed some space.  We do not live together yet and we both work and go to school so we only see each other 2 times a week.  We constantly tell each other how we miss each other and that we cannot wait to move in together.  Just one week ago he told me that it is getting harder each time I leave his place to say goodbye until the next time we see each other.  What am I supposed to think about this? I feel heartbroken that he pretty much said that he wishes he had never proposed.  What do I do?

5 comments

  1. “He told me that he was not in it 100% anymore and he needed some space.” After 7 years that’s how he feels? That’s enough to walk away. It will be hard but you can’t wait for him to get back to 100%. How long is that going to take? It will be hard but let it go and if it’s in the cards maybe later it will happen for you guys. Nothing can stop the bigger plan but you can’t put your life on hold. A man that thiks it’s ok to propose to please his family has his priorities out of order. That was unfair to you and I’m sorry. Listen to some Maxwell lol at least that’s what I always do when I’m in a funk.

  2. To me it sounds like he’s got something else that he wants to do and he’s trying to create space between you two for him to do it. Once a man has feelings I’ve come to learn they have a hard time being bluntly honest because they don’t want to hurt you. What he’s saying would be confusing to me as well. I would say as hard and hurtful as it may be give him some space. If it means you moving on then that’s what you have to do but at this point I would advise that you look out for you.

Share your voice

