The Dilemma

I recently watched a movie called “The Dilemma” and that along with some recent conversations got me to thinking.   Now before I get started I’m going to need you to follow me on this because I’m going to give two different scenarios.

Scenario #1 is something like the movie. Your best friend is married and you’re out and see their spouse cheating. Do you tell your best friend or do you let the spouse know that you saw them and tell them they have to tell your best friend what they did or else  you will?

Scenario #2: You’re cheating with a person that’s also in a relationship and later you find out that the person’s significant other is also cheating.  Do you feel obligated to tell the person you’re cheating with that they’re being cheated on or do you keep your mouth shut because you figure hey they’re cheating with you so why should you tell that they’re being cheated on?

In the movie they showed various results as to how the situation in scenario #1 could play out but I’m curious to know what real people like you think other than what’s shown from the theatrical Hollywood perspective.  Have you ever experienced either of these?

2 comments

  1. Love Vince Vaughn and Kevin James! Have to check that movie out!

    Now for my comment…I have been in secenario #1 before. I was married at that time and had suspected that my husband was cheating but had no real proof. He was doing the “call me when you get there, what time will you be back”, etc. So one day my best friend saw my then husband out in an intimate situation with another female. She saw him, but he didn’t see her. she called me from her cell phone and let it go to my vcml. Walked over to him and the entire conversation was caught on recordin. When I saw him that evening I never lead on that I knew what happened.

    He was a nervous “as a long tailed cat in a room full of rocking chairs”! Then all I asked was “how was your day?” and he started pacing. Saying he had something he wanted to tell me. Then he proceeded to tell me how he saw my friend and she was trying to come on to him. He made her seem to be some kind of slut with no regards to our friendship. By the time he was finished and I wasn’t upset…I ran back the scenario he gave me (he looked puzzled)…then I logged into my vcml! lol

    BUSTED him like a “pumpkin dropped from the roof”! My friend and I promised to never let a guy come between us and always tell each other the truth no matter how bad it was. Too bad my then husband hadn’t remember those lil unspoken rules when we got in a relationship and then married! lol

    • WOOOOW! That is classic! That’s just what he gets. With technology today EVERYONE had better be careful. Even if you’re not doing something it can make it look like you are. 🙂

      I’ve never been in quite a situation like this but I’m not one to shoot the messenger.

Share your voice

